CV Werner Hofmann

(last update Nov. 2024)

Address Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik

D-69117 Heidelberg, Saupfercheckweg 1, or

D-69029 Heidelberg, P.O. Box 103980

Phone +49-6221-516-330, Fax +49-6221-516-603

Email Werner. Hofmann@mpi-hd.mpg.de

Nationality German

Date and Place of Birth November 11, 1952, Baden-Baden, Germany

Education 1971-1977 Study of physics at Karlsruhe University

Dipl. Phys. Karlsruhe University (1974) Ph.D. Karlsruhe University (1977)

Habilitation in physics, Dortmund University (1980)

Career/Employment 1975-1977 Scientific Employee, Univ. Karlsruhe

1978-1981 Scientific Assistant, Univ. Dortmund

1981-1982 Heisenberg Scholarship at Univ. Dortmund

1982-1983 Heisenberg Scholarship at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (LBL),

Berkeley

1984-1985 Assistant Professor, Univ. Berkeley, and Associate Faculty

Scientist (LBL)

1985-1987 Associate Professor, Univ. Berkeley, and Faculty Senior

Scientist (LBL)

1987-1988 Professor, Univ. Berkeley, and Faculty Senior Scientist (LBL)

1988-2019 Director and Scientific Member, Max Planck Institute for Nuclear

Physics, Heidelberg

Administration and Committee Service

Chair of the Chemistry, Physics and Technology Section of the Max Planck

Society, 2008-2011; Deputy chair 2007-2008, and 2011-2012

Managing Director, Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics 1991-1993,

1999-2001, and 2016-2017

Chair of the H.E.S.S. Steering Committee (since 2013); Spokesperson of the CTA Collaboration (2010-2024); Spokesperson of the H.E.S.S. Collaboration (2000-2012); Spokesperson of PEP4-TPC Collaboration (in the 1980ies); Chair of the Collaboration Boards of LHCb and HERA-B

Collaborations (in the 1990ies)

... many committees, currently including the LNGS Scientific Committee (2020-2025) and the INFN Comitato di Valutazione Internazionale (CVI)

(2020-2025)

Awards Stern-Gerlach-Medal 2016 of the German Physical Society

Yodh Prize 2015 of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

(IUPAP)

Smoluchowski Warburg Prize 2015 of the Polish Physical Society and the

German Physical Society

Rossi Prize 2010 of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American

Astronomical Society, with F. Aharonian, H. Völk and the H.E.S.S.

Collaboration

Descartes Research Prize 2006 of the European Commission for the

H.E.S.S. Collaboration

Memberships Heidelberg Academy of Sciences, since 2010